skip to Main Content
First Presbyterian Church Of New Haven

Our worshiping and community life is coordinated around six seasons that run through the year.

Our current theme

The theme for the Fall season is Created to be and for….

Throughout this season, we will consider what God has created humanity to be and for what purpose – for example, we are created to be in relationship with one another, to love one another, to receive blessing, and we are created to welcome the stranger.

Where does the seasonal theme come from?

At its regular meeting Session reflects on the texts Pastor JC has chosen to examine in worship and allows a theme for the upcoming season to emerge from its discussions. On the communal committee night that follows, worship, mission, fellowship, and learning activities in the life of the congregation are organized around that theme.

How can I get involved with the seasonal theme?

Everyone is welcome to gather for our communal committee night. Perhaps you are a longstanding committee member, perhaps you are interested in trying out a new committee, perhaps you are not sure what committees are and what they do – just turn up for the group dinner, prayer, and reflection, from 5:30 pm. and then sit with any committee to help plan the season ahead.


November 17 10:45 AM  – The Rev J.C. Cadwallader preaching
Parts of the body.  1 Corinthians 12: 12-31; Psalm 19; Nehemiah 8:1-3, 5-6, 8-10

November 24 10:45 AM  – The Rev J.C. Cadwallader preaching
Parts of the body.  1 Corinthians 8:1-15;Psalm 30; Wisdom of Solomon 1:13-15, 2:23-24

Learning Together

November 17 9:30 AM  – Issues for our time: Prisons, led by Grace Woodward

November 24 9:30 AM  – Issues for our Time: End of Life Care, led by Brian Gray

Living Our Faith

November 21 6:30 PM  – 3rd Thursday at the Manse

November 23 9:00 AM  – FISH – Deliver Thanksgiving Turkeys

November 23 1:00 PM  – CCA Pack Food Thanksgiving Bags

November 24 6:00 PM  – New Members Dinner

December 4 5:30 PM  – Theology on Tap

December 7 4:00 PM  – Serve the Evening Meal at Columbus House

December 19 6:30 PM  – 3rd Thursday at the Manse

Back To Top